Skip to content
Save 15% on your first order. Code: FIRST15 || Free domestic shipping on order $35+
Current Offers: Save 15% on your first order. Code: FIRST15 || Buy three prints for the price of two.

George Eliot Book Collection

$ 175.00

This George Eliot Set is a collaboration between Obvious State and Juniper Books. SPECIAL ORDER: Please allow 2-3 weeks for delivery.

Mary Anne Evans smuggled her stories into the public sphere under the pseudonym “George Eliot.” We wanted to illustrate that fact--the woman behind the male pen name--which parallels a tension in her stories between passionate, independent characters and the rigid Victorian society in which they lived.

George Eliot became the talk of England in 1859 with the publication of her first novel, Adam Bede. Already famous as a journalist and editor, she left the adoring public guessing as to the author’s true identity until a man claiming he wrote the work stepped forward…after which she set the record straight. A favorite writer of Queen Victoria (who sought Eliot’s autograph for her personal collection), Eliot embodied the Victorian era her books have made famous. The books in the set are published by Everyman’s Library, complete with silk reading-ribbons, acid-free, natural cream-colored paper, and European-style half-round spines.


  1. The Mill on the Floss
  2. Middlemarch
  3. Daniel Deronda
  4. Adam Bede
  5. Silas Marner

    Dimensions: 8.25 in tall x 7.5 in wide x 5.25 in deep